Vital Health laboratory

Venous problems

It is common to hear the term "heavy legs". What is less well known is that this is only one of many symptoms of what is known as chronic venous insufficiency, other frequently encountered symptoms being pain, heat, oedema, cramps, burning, itching, skin disorders. Chronic venous insufficiency is a common disease, not as benign as we are used to thinking.

 

In France, about 20 million people suffer from it. Of course, the stages of this disease can be very diverse. Some stages can lead to a deterioration in the quality of life. Chronic venous insufficiency also has an economic impact estimated at between 1 and 3% of the health budget in industrialised countries.

Risk factors

Age, of course, due to increasing weakness of the venous walls, but also due to the duration of exposure to other risk factors.

 

A family history of chronic venous insufficiency should also be considered:

Risk factors for venous insufficiency

Prolonged standing , especially in the workplace, or sitting with legs hanging down for several hours should be avoided.

 

Obesity, pregnancy, hormonal disturbances are all risk factors for chronic venous disease. Low-impact sports such as walking, cycling, swimming and gymnastics should be favoured over high-impact or jumping sports.

 

Prolonged exposure to heat, such as standing on a beach without cooling your legs, regularly visiting saunas or steam rooms, or regularly taking hot baths are all situations that should be avoided.

Females also appear to be at greater risk, probably due in part to hormonal factors.

Pathophysiology

Anatomy

90% of the venous return of the lower limbs is done by the deep veins, satellites of the bones.

10% is through the superficial network (saphenous veins and their branches).

Communication systems between these two networks exist (perforating veins, saphenous veins, communicating veins). These veins contain valves, a system of anti-gravity valves which prevent the blood from flowing back downwards despite its weight.

Role of the veins

In the lower limbs, the tissues (bones, muscles, tendons, skin, etc.) require oxygen from the heart and lungs via the arteries. Once used by these different organs and structures, the blood is deprived of oxygen and must return to the heart and lungs to recover it again. This is the role of the venous system.

Pathophysiology

As in the entire circulatory system, there is a certain pressure in the veins. When standing still, this pressure is 80 mmHg at the ankle. When walking, it is about 30 mmHg. This highlights the significant impact of physical activity on the venous system.

 

 

Four return pumps are identified:

- The Lejars plantar venous sole under the foot contracts with each step on the ground.

- By contracting the calf muscles, the venous return is boosted.

- The contraction of the diaphragm during breathing movements.

- The heart "pump" which, because of its function, draws venous blood towards it.

 

All studies agree in explaining the symptomatology of chronic venous insufficiency as a result of prolonged venous hyperpressure, which is itself responsible for chronic inflammation developing an alteration of the microcirculation and, in the ultimate stage, trophic disorders (skin suffering). This alteration of the microcirculation particularly explains the role of VEINAVITAL in the management of chronic venous disease;

 

 

There are three possible causes of this overpressure:

- Varicose disease (varicose veins and microangiopathy)

- Post-thrombotic syndrome

- Functional venous insufficiency

Etiology

Varicose vein disease

According to the WHO, the definition of a varicose vein is a vein with a diameter greater than 3 millimetres in the upright position (procubitus), with an often (but not always) tortuous course that does not allow for a correct return of blood to the heart (notion of reflux in echo-Doppler)

In order to be treated, varicose veins must first be classified according to existing classifications. The most common is the CEAP classification. 

 

Several criteria are used:

- Clinical (clinical examination, territory, diameter appearance)

- Etiological(essential or secondary, notion of risk factors)

- Anatomical (territory, deep or superficial vein, etc.) 

- Pathophysiological (congenital malformation, post-thrombotic syndrome...)

 

These varicose veins should be distinguished from :

- Telangiectasias or varicosities which are small bluish or purple veins in a network, less than one millimetre in diameter, with no pathological consonance

- Reticular veins which are small veins in a subcutaneous network of 1 to 3mm in diameter, again without pathological impact.

 

Not all visible veins are necessarily varicose (sportsmen, slim people, lipodystrophy linked to certain treatments).

Post-thrombotic syndrome

This results in the classic symptoms of chronic venous insufficiency which often follow, in a delayed manner, a thrombosis (phlebitis) due to the destruction of the internal structure of the veins (valves) by the initial clot (thrombus) or by a persistent partial or total obstruction (sequelae thrombus)

Functional venous insufficiency

This situation is somewhat paradoxical because it occurs in subjects who have healthy veins but who are not stimulated (deficiency of the calf muscles, collapsed or hollow arch of the foot, abnormality of the function of the ankle or knee hindering normal walking, dysfunction of the cardio-respiratory contraction.

Rare causes

A venous compression may hinder the return of blood from the legs to the heart (tumours, ganglions, Cockett's syndrome, etc.).

Clinical impacts of chronic venous insufficiency

1st phase

The first thing to know is that they are numerous and non-specific; patients often describe heaviness, more rarely pain. Cramps and itching are also usually described. These signs are more likely to occur at the end of the day or in the heat of the day, during static positions. The impact of pregnancy, contraception, menstrual periods and certain hormonal anomalies should not be overlooked.

It is even more likely to be of venous origin if these signs improve in the cold, in a lying position (decubitus), when walking, with suitable herbal treatments or with the wearing of a medical compression device (compression stockings).

More advanced stages

- Edema mainly in the evening (end of the day), at first regressing with rest, then progressively more frequent or even permanent, and may affect the lymphatic system.

- corona phlebectatica (small blue spider veins of the ankles)

- ochre dermatitis (brownish skin lesion)

- eczema (known as varicose eczema)

- dermo-hypodermatitis (sclerotic and calf-covering appearance)

- white atrophy

- varicose ulcer

Support

Limiting stasis and hyperpressure

Healthy living rules

- limit trampling and sedentary, static situations

- avoid standing still for long periods of time, sitting with legs hanging down

- regular walking recommended

- fight against excess weight

- avoid prolonged heat (direct exposure, sauna, hammam, hot bath, floor heating, etc.)

- Raising the foot of the bed by 5 to 7 cm

- avoid sports with strong impacts on the ground such as tennis, basketball, jogging, dancing

Wearing medical compression stockings

Unfortunately, only 30% of patients suffering from venous insufficiency comply with this treatment, making it less effective than it should be in theory, and often ill-adapted (materials not suitable for patients, incorrect measurements, skin intolerance to components).


Protecting the microcirculation

The above measures (lifestyle rules, medical compression) have an impact on the protection of microvessels but not everything can be implemented in terms of lifestyle and as we have seen medical elastic compression is far from being worn as it should be and this treatment is only effective if it is observed regularly. 

It is therefore essential to strengthen microcirculation, in particular by using plants which have been recognised as effective in this area since the dawn of time and which more recently have proved their effectiveness through numerous studies. 

Due to its composition, VEINAVITAL has a role in limiting the inflammatory component of the venous wall, in protecting the tone of the vessel wall, and has an impact on the decongestion of the capillaries, thus acting directly on the progression of chronic venous insufficiency since, as we have seen, the symptomatology is essentially linked to the hyperpressure induced in the microvessels.

Specific treatments

In the case of large varicose veins, to limit the stasis they cause, they should be removed either surgically (stripping, thermal probes -LASER or radiofrequency-) or chemically by injections of a sclerosing product (sclerotherapy).

try veinavital

5 actions for your venous well-being

- Light legs

- Participates in the proper functioning of venous and lymphatic circulation

- Drainage aid 

- Menstrual comfort

From €11.90

laboratoire Vital Santé

Problématique veineuse

Il est habituel d’entendre le terme de « jambes lourdes ». Ce que l’on sait moins, c’est que cela ne représente qu’un symptôme parmi beaucoup d’autres de ce que l’on appelle l’insuffisance veineuse chronique, d’autres symptômes fréquemment rencontrés étant une douleur, une chaleur, un œdème, des crampes, des brûlures, des démangeaisons, des troubles cutanés. L’insuffisance veineuse chronique est une maladie fréquente, pas aussi bénigne que ce que l’on a l’habitude de penser.

 

En France, environ 20 millions de personnes en souffrent. Bien sûr, les stades de cette maladie peuvent être très divers. Certains stades peuvent entraîner une dégradation de la qualité de la vie. L’insuffisance veineuse chronique a également un impact économique estimé entre 1 et 3% du budget de santé des pays industrialisés.

Facteurs de risque

L’âge évidemment du fait d’une faiblesse croissante des parois veineuses mais aussi de la durée d’exposition aux autres facteurs de risque.

 

Les antécédents familiaux d’insuffisance veineuse chronique sont également à prendre en considération :

Facteurs de risque des insuffisances veineuse

La station debout prolongée en particulier dans le milieu professionnel ou la position assise jambes pendantes pendant plusieurs heures seront à éviter. 

 

 

L’obésité, la grossesse, des dérèglements hormonaux sont autant de facteurs de risque de maladie veineuse chronique. On favorisera les sports à faible impact sur le sol comme la marche, le vélo, la natation, la gymnastique au dépend des sports à fort impact ou entraînant des sauts.

 

 

L’exposition à la chaleur prolongée comme le fait de rester sur une plage sans se rafraîchir les jambes, de fréquenter régulièrement les saunas ou les hammams ou de prendre régulièrement des bains chauds sont autant de situations à proscrire. 

 

Les personnes de sexe féminin semblent également plus exposées probablement en partie en raison de facteurs hormonaux.

Physiopathologie

Anatomie

90% du retour veineux des membres inférieurs se fait par les veines profondes, satellites des os.

10% se fait par le réseau superficiel (Veines saphènes et leurs branches).

Des systèmes de communication entre ces deux réseaux existent (veines perforantes, crosses saphènes, veines communicantes). Ces veines contiennent des valvules, système de clapets anti gravité qui empêchent le sang de redescendre vers le bas malgré son poids.

Rôle des veines

Au niveau des membres inférieurs, les tissus (os, muscle, tendons, peau…) nécessitent un apport d’oxygène apporté du cœur et des poumons par les artères. Une fois utilisé par ces différents organes et structures, le sang est dépourvu d’oxygène et doit remonter vers le cœur et les poumons pour en récupérer de nouveau. Cette remontée est le rôle du système veineux.

Physiopathologie

Comme dans tout le système circulatoire, une certaine pression règne dans les veines. En position debout immobile, cette pression est de 80mmHg à la cheville. À la marche, elle est d’environ 30 mmHg. Cela met en évidence l’impact important de l’activité physique sur le système veineux.

 

 

Quatre pompes de retour sont identifiées :

• La semelle veineuse plantaire de Lejars sous le pied se contracte à chaque appui au sol.

• Les muscles du mollet en se contractant dynamisent le retour veineux.

• La contraction du diaphragme lors des mouvements respiratoires.

• La « pompe » cardiaque qui du fait de son fonctionnement aspire le sang veineux vers lui.

 

Toutes les études s’entendent pour expliquer la symptomatologie de l’insuffisance veineuse chronique du fait d’une hyperpression veineuse prolongée elle-même responsable d’une inflammation chronique développant une altération de la microcirculation et au stade ultime des troubles trophiques (souffrance cutanée). Cette altération de la microcirculation explique particulièrement le rôle de VEINAVITAL dans la prise en charge de la maladie veineuse chronique ;

 

 

Cette hyperpression est possiblement liée à 3 grandes causes :

• La maladie variqueuse (varices et microangiopathie)

• Syndrome post thrombotique

• Insuffisance veineuse fonctionnelle

Etiologie

Maladie variqueuse

Selon l’OMS, la définition d’une varice est une veine de diamètre supérieur à 3 millimètres en position debout (procubitus), de trajet souvent tortueux (mais pas toujours) ne permettant pas un retour sanguin correct vers le cœur (notion de reflux en écho-doppler).

Afin de pouvoir être traitées, les varices doivent d’abord être classifiées selon des classifications existantes. La plus habituelle et la classification CEAP

 

Plusieurs critères sont retenus :

• Clinique (examen clinique, territoire, diamètre aspect)

• Etiologique (essentielles ou secondaires, notion de facteurs de risque)

• Anatomique (territoire, veine profonde ou superfielle…) 

• Physiopathologique (malformation congénitale, syndrome post thrombotique…)

 

Ces varices seront à distinguer des :

• Télangiectasies où varicosités qui sont de petites veines bleutées où violettes en réseau, inférieur à un millimètre de diamètre n’ayant pas de consonance pathologique

• Veines réticulaires qui sont les petites veines en réseau sous cutané de 1 à 3mm de diamètre là encore sans impact pathologique.

 

Toute veine visible n’est pas forcément variqueuse (sportif, sujet mince, lipodystrophie liée à certains traitements).

Syndrome post thrombotique

Cela se traduit par les symptômes classiques d’insuffisance veineuse chronique qui font suite, souvent de manière retardée à une thrombose (phlébite) du fait de la destruction de la structure interne des veines (valvules) par le caillot initial (thrombus) ou par une obstruction persistante partielle ou totale (thrombus séquellaire).

Insuffisance veineuse fonctionnelle

Cette situation est un peu paradoxale car elle survient chez des sujets qui ont des veines saines mais qui ne sont pas stimulées (déficience des muscles du mollet, voute plantaire affaissée ou creuse, anomalie de la fonction de la cheville ou du genou gênant une marche normale, dysfonction de la contraction cardio-respiratoire.

Causes rares

Une compression veineuse pourra gêner le retour du sang des jambes vers le cœur (tumeurs, ganglions, syndrome de Cockett…).

Impacts cliniques de l’insuffisance veineuse chronique

1ère phase

La première chose à savoir est qu’ils sont nombreux et non spécifiques ; les patients décrivent souvent des lourdeurs, plus rarement des douleurs. Des crampes, des démangeaisons sont également habituellement décrites. Ces signes surviennent plus volontiers en fin de journée ou à la chaleur, lors des positions statiques. L’impact de la grossesse, de la prise de contraception, des périodes menstruelles, de certaines anomalies hormonales ne sera pas à négliger.

On s’orientera encore plus volontiers vers une origine veineuse si ces signes s’atténuent au froid, en position allongée (décubitus), lors de la marche, avec des traitements à base de plantes adaptées ou avec le port d’un moyen compressif médical (bas de contention).

Phases plus avancées

• Œdème principalement vespéral (fin de journée), au début régressif avec le repos puis progressivement de plus en plus fréquent voire permanent et pouvant impacter le système lymphatique.

• corona phlebectatica (petites télangiectasies bleues des chevilles)

• dermite ocre (lésion cutanée brunâtre)

• eczéma (dit eczéma variqueux)

• dermo-hypodermite (Aspect scléreux et engainant les mollets)

• atrophie blanche

• ulcère variqueux

Prise en charge

Limiter la stase et l’hyperpression

Règles d’hygiène de vie

• limiter le piétinement et la sédentarité, les situations statiques

• éviter la station debout prolongée immobile, la position assise jambes pendantes

• marche régulière conseillée

• lutter contre les excès de poids

• éviter la chaleur prolongée (exposition directe, sauna, hammam, bain chaud, chauffage au sol…)

• surélévation des pieds du lit de 5 à 7 cm

• éviter les sports avec des impacts forts sur le sol comme le tennis, le basket, le footing, la danse

Port de bas de compression médicale

Malheureusement ce traitement n’est respecté que par 30% des patients souffrant d’insuffisance veineuse le rendant ainsi moins efficace qu’il ne devrait l’être en théorie, souvent mal adapté (matières ne convenant pas aux patients, mauvaises prises de mesures, intolérance cutanée aux composants).


Protéger la microcirculation

Les mesures précédentes (règles d’hygiène de vie, compression médicale) ont un impact sur la protection des microvaisseaux mais tout ne peut être mise en œuvre en termes d’hygiène de vie et comme on l’a vu la compression médicale élastique est loin d’être portée comme elle le devrait et ce traitement n’est efficace que s’il est observé régulièrement. 

Il apparaît donc primordial de renforcer la microcirculation notamment par l’utilisation des plantes reconnues comme efficaces en ce domaine depuis la nuit des temps et qui plus récemment ont prouvé leur efficacité par de nombreuses études. 

De par sa composition, VEINAVITAL a un rôle sur la limitation de la composante inflammatoire de la paroi veineuse, de la protection du tonus de la paroi des vaisseaux, un impact sur la décongestion des capillaires, agissant ainsi directement sur la progression de l’insuffisance veineuse chronique puisque comme on l’a vu, la symptomatologie est essentiellement liée à l’hyperpression induite dans les microvaisseaux.

Traitements spécifiques

Devant d’importantes varices, pour limiter la stase qu’elles induisent, il conviendra de les supprimer soit chirurgicalement (stripping, sondes thermiques -LASER ou radiofréquence-) soit chimiquement par injections de produit sclérosant (sclérothérapie).

essayez veinavital

5 actions pour votre bien-être veineux

• Jambes légères

• Participe au bon fonctionnement de la circulation veineuse et lymphatique

• Aide au drainage 

• Confort menstruel

À partir de 11,90€